Day 22: What makes you sad


Sadness is an emotional pain associated with, or characterized by, feelings of disadvantage, loss, despair, grief, helplessness, disappointment and sorrow. An individual experiencing sadness may become quiet or lethargic, and withdraw themselves from others. An example of severe sadness is depression, a mood which can be brought on by major depressive disorder or persistent depressive disorder. Crying can be an indication of sadness.[1]

Sadness is one of the “six basic emotions” described by Paul Ekman, along with happiness, anger, surprise, fear, and disgust.

I dont really like writing about what makes me sad because it’ll make me sad so this I cannot imagine will be a long topic.

I spend a lot of time feeling inadequate, not because i’m made to feel that way by other people but simply, that’s how I feel. Even when I am the only person in the room who can do what I can do I still don’t feel good enough. I know that this is something I need to work on and improve as it does make life tricky for other people around me and the fact that i’m like this makes me sad. I don’t know where it comes from and would rather it didn’t but just have to try and get better and to allow the negative voice it’s say but not to allow it to have the control over me it has done in the past.

Cruelty is another thing that makes me sad. I tend to be a very easily upset person when I see what horribleness exists within humanity. I tend to be more upset by cruelty to animals than to cruelty towards humans. I’m not saying that humans can treat each other as awfully as they do and i’m cool with that but more that humans often have a way of fighting back, which animals don’t. I adopted an Orangutan last year and am thinking of doing the same for as long as I can, to ensure at least 1 little love is safe from the bad parts of humanity. I can’t save them all but I like to think my little attempt is better than nothing.

Ok, I just cannot keep writing about sad things so I’m now going to be more irreverent, these things still make me sad but are less likely to have me sobbing my eyes out on a regular basis.

Lack of cake makes me sad – to be honest, since I stopped eating things with Palm Oil in them, I have had a severe lack of sweet things which saddens me. I get the reason behind it and that is a good thing but there’s times when people in our office have bought in treats on their birthday and EVERYTHING has Palm in it. It’s so sad and depressing that it is in so much but the sacrifice is totally worth it.

I do love my job very much but something that makes me sad is that at no point has a job been offered to me in either Librarian-ship (I do apply for every opening that comes up but sadly i’ve never been that lucky) or a more unlikely but fun job would be beach and cocktail tester for someone like a holiday company. I’m sure if I had to i’d slum it around the world testing beautiful soft white sands and wonderful exciting cocktails for others, you know, cos i’m selfless like that.

so yes, there’s a few things that make me sad, i’m sure there’s so much more that I could add to this but i’m really trying to not focus on the bad things so I’d rather not go on. Sorry for the short one today, hopefully there will be more info and fun topics tomorrow 🙂

 

Leave a comment