2020 – Happy Jar

Not gonna lie, I started my 2019 list on my work computer and when I left, I forgot to copy it over to my own so decided to be more organised this year and pretty much add the list here throughout the year to make my life a little easier.

I do this every year normally, my mind is one where 10 good things can be wiped out by 1 piece of negative so when this was presented to me as a way to remind myself of all the positives, I decided to give it a go. Since that point it’s got longer and more happy filled so I’d like to think that it’s a good lesson for me, and always a way to perk myself up if I’m having a down time.

At least I succeeded at something in 2019!

I hated not having a list of all the good things from 2019 because some of it was amazing, so am hoping that 2020s can be even bigger and better.

****16/10/2020****

I started this list with the hopes that 2020 would be brilliant, and then Covid happened. I’m lucky to say that thus far it hasn’t really negatively affected us but I have worried more about the man (who works in retail and worked all the way through lockdown) and my family (health issues and the like) and obviously we’ve all been less able to go out and do things.

I was meant to be taking my dad to Paris for a few days at the beginning of October but sadly this has been delayed. I’d rather wait till we’re both comfortable and safe and then enjoy it more – plus this gives me more time to save some spending euros.

However, on re-reading this list there’s a few duplicates and i’ve definitely shown I’m happy as a home body and still have a great group of friends despite everyone being locked away.

Happy jar list 2020 –

  • Getting things sleeved so we can play Paladins and 5 Tribes
  • blind date with a book box – got the scarlet letter
  • Tax rebate via Mcdonalds
  • getting Yakuza and playing stupid computer games
  • making and sending nearly 30 soaps for Xmas orders
  • lip syncing under a mask
  • Mando season 2
  • fun tik-tok mashups- bodies and toxic – who knew? 🙂
  • cannoli’s from the hungry racoon
  • Beautiful Ela has such beautiful babies, am so pleased for her
  • tome saga and artisans arriving
  • Biden will be president – America can finally relax a bit
  • winning paladins, at least twice!
  • making xmas decs together
  • F**k Carloe Baskin
  • new garphill games
  • winning a game of Paladins
  • Rhianna Pratchett responding to my birthday tweet
  • lovely Jas, Rach, Lotty and Jenny helping me
  • communicating with the broken meeple
  • Gem seems to be living a happy life, which pleases me
  • overtime of approx. 10 hours a week – all good at double time
  • dinner at mum and dads during lockdown – epic couscous
  • lovely gift from Becky, new soap molds
  • planning 2021 Paris
  • getting sleeves for S so we can play the rest of the west kingdom saga
  • finding old series of project runway
  • Catching up with old primary school friends, am so amazed where life has taken us all
  • having a heart to heart with S – he means so much to me
  • lunch at the shah with dad
  • settling into the admin team
  • getting rt’d by AFP- actual AFP!!!
  • presents for Becky and Helen
  • making people laugh in the admin team – Jas loves my drag decs
  • Dean having such confidence in me that I can make things
  • starting to make more soaps
  • candle making kit – loving the stripes
  • Frank taking some horrible calls of my hands – bloody Martin!
  • colacao delivery from Becky
  • Heat changing mug – I’m so cool!
  • new phone
  • sorting Paris with dad
  • 5 whole days off
  • Twitter winnings from Glenn and his Movember fundraising
  • crazy Friday night
  • video mix mayhem night
  • first time taking mum back to a kfc
  • getting liam’s birthday present- the slave
  • hearing from Oli
  • new job – loving it
  • getting a wheelie chair
  • love a nice long weekend, lots of Minecraft and lots of silly laughs
  • Liam’s trashed Mexican hat wearing profile pic – god I miss those days
  • getting an office chair which becomes winner chair
  • Always knowing I can share a joke with Boston friends – Glynn, Benji, Gem, Kelly. I miss them loads.
  • candle making kit
  • planning to go and do photo days with dad
  • being allowed to keep working at home
  • fluffy cat – she is such a little sweetie.
  • 3 rounds of Watergate to find the winner (me)
  • cooking together, even when it’s just making pizzas its fun
  • walk like a bangle Minecraft world
  • a mountain of fudge
  • getting our yakuza on
  • baking horrors on bake off
  • getting the sofa bed out for a proper film night
  • starting the qualifications at work – I may still have some brains in here somewhere
  • getting the back yard swept and weeded, we have a lot of plans for out there
  • being offered training and then an interview in admin, even if I dont get it, it’s nice to be appreciated
  • helping admin
  • 2 x USA cover Pratchett’s
  • winner books, socks and tea on a twitter competition, looking forward to getting lost in a new trilogy
  • beautiful jess bringing me plants
  • new greenhouse / Dexter house
  • getting new games even during covid – bring on Fort
  • growing veg and it not all dying
  • getting him a new game for Xmas, and new silly pieces
  • we picked a bucket of potatoes
  • watching Hamilton and trying not to cry
  • buying disc inspired joggers
  • watching zee Garcia do a jigsaw puzzle online for 3 hours
  • playing more duelosaur
  • 71 in paladins!!!
  • neither of us can win as the shark in Jaws
  • lovely gift from Emma for xmas, beautiful rainbow
  • jess dropping round some plants
  • Dexter starting to snooze inside again – must be cold
  • winning books on twitter
  • dean having confidence in me and asking me to make some gifts for Helen for hogswatch
  • cooking together
  • actually starting my morning walks again
  • despite Stevie not being here, the amount of love everyone still has is heartening
  • new discworld joggers
  • getting dads stone work out and in my “office”
  • using the dining table as my office – really easy to breakdown and still play games
  • selling bits online, always lovely
  • Chelsie sending vids of new office, looks nice
  • Matt saying I’d have a good chance of working from home
  • Hamilton – finally
  • slow cooker bread is a revelation
  • ed / larry liking my tweet – my foot? left
  • new wheelie chair of victory
  • s winning 1960
  • Lovely to hear from Mayes out of the blue, I miss her
  • stupid unexplained crimes tv show – so who did it?????
  • potato planting
  • actual Marco Marco liking my tweet
  • watching the Mandalorian
  • umbrella academy – seemingly a new fun series
  • finding out cougar town had 6 seasons
  • re watching old drag race with race chaser
  • Fantastic cross stitch from Lacei
  • growing things together in the garden
  • re watching better call saul
  • better call saul ending????
  • actually selling jewellery and bookmarks
  • am so proud of him working so hard
  • looking into soap making
  • Jess sending me lovely messages so supportive
  • Zsuzs offering to be part of my social bubble
  • seeing mum and dad for the first time in months
  • lovely great banging steaks at mum and dads
  • getting a tax rebate and buying soap supplies
  • treating S to 1960 and beating him
  • soap supplies arriving
  • Doddie sending me a good recipe for spring rolls
  • S learning 1960 so we’re never playing it again
  • getting special resource meeps
  • S being sweet and cuddling me when I was sad
  • Benji sharing his Tiger king photos
  • Dexter actually being cute and trying to catch flies
  • hair dye
  • buying Venus fly traps and mine actually catching flies
  • planning Paris with dad. this is a good thing but not maybe for the waistlines
  • getting Yasmin a leaving card, miss her
  • doing more craft things
  • seeing Chris and Jamie, meeting Ellie and lasting approx. 30 mins outside with other people
  • dad having a good test result
  • Lovely letter and some discworld stamps from Laura
  • being able to continue working from home for the moment
  • spending time experimenting with making our own Kiev’s (sort of, bacon wrapped garlic chicken)
  • bossing yorkies!
  • buying 1960
  • cooking together
  • watching series 12 of drag race
  • asking Ela for tips about haircare while she was in labour – and she responded!
  • takeaway during lockdown
  • Claire getting her new job
  • lovely lunch at Lynton court with mum and dad
  • tiger king
  • Yasmin being featured on ladbible for epic tiktok with a phone Karen
  • Karen S and Kelly paying over the odds
  • brownies as a random dessert
  • lip sync game x 100 due to masks
  • seeing mum and dad for lovely lunch after isolation fathers day
  • making our own steaks – steaks were epic, sauces less so
  • making focaccia
  • isolation baking – chocolate fudge cake
  • Mums friends supporting me and my random efforts – Thank you Karen
  • loving my morning catch ups with Malcolmson
  • lovely messages from Kerry, I miss her and bird and Liam loads
  • speaking with mum and dad over isolation, they seem ok
  • me schooling S in Ankh and Architects
  • highest score in architects in 62
  • Dexter coming into our lives
  • pre isolation day with mum
  • great lunch with dad at the shah, am glad we get to talk more
  • sending out bookmarks and getting #pratchettpostal items in return
  • beating Stuart in ankh, Watergate and architects
  • Dexter being sleepy cute
  • funny work chats despite the fact we’re working from home
  • looking into education online
  • hot pepper cross stitch
  • mum starting a mighty oak for us
  • shopping with the thought of isolation
  • having epic twitter friends, people who you never meet
  • Emma checking in on me, she’s always so caring
  • reading more – I might even hit my target for the year.
  • Emma setting up a zoom call to try and keep us all in touch
  • chocolate crunch – BHS CLASSIC
  • epic isolation social distance chat with Lindsay
  • growing things – potatoes and carrots
  • planning a garden
  • getting into ffx 2
  • backing viscounts
  • writing letters to lovely people
  • day 2 of official isolation and already planning works drinks when we’re back
  • mum and dad both being ok and safe
  • Stuart laughing at me saying strafing
  • new fences – cannot wait to get my garden on
  • crocus has started to sprout!
  • Amsterdam cross stitch
  • stick of truth
  • new sofa bed for upstairs, we will be more comfortable
  • making dad laugh, and hopefully putting his mind at rest about Paris
  • buying a cheap running watch, I will get myself in gear
  • setting up our garden
  • Tiger king – hiya all you cool cats and kittens
  • starting the Mort jigsaw puzzle
  • watching the greatest race makes me want to travel
  • finding new cross stitch
  • so proud of S for working so hard and looking after us
  • Alison offering us another years tenancy
  • finding a bit of creativeness
  • buying snacks for the homeless guy outside tesco during isolation
  • sunrises are amazing – and feel good for the soul
  • watching Aidans home shows whilst in isolation
  • Dexter keeping me company while i work
  • Jess always being lovely and making me laugh
  • mum waking up thinking they were watching a thing about the wild west when actually they were watching patton in front of a tank
  • Emma always taking the time to write to me
  • making Simon and matt laugh by joking about them sharing a phone during the virus times “why do you do this to us Bartlett? cos I’m a dick Simon, that’s why!”
  • buying bulk in case we are trapped inside for 14 days
  • superhero photo with Peterkin’s
  • Claire and Charlies new home- they are officially adults
  • Liam trying to fool me with a Spanish april fools (dec 28th) shame he didnt do it till the 30th
  • 3 google reviews in 1 day
  • trying to organise paris with dad
  • Lovely Rachel is a great boss, she’s such a grown up though, makes me feel inadequate
  • looking at new games on kickstarter
  • backed viscounts
  • yummy fajitas – then frying bits for egg toppers in the chili oil leftovers
  • lovely Chelsie at work, always so kind
  • Bruno always checking to make sure I’m ok
  • having green chats after work with Bruno and frank
  • making Emanuela smile
  • sending presents to Helen from Dean. really hope she likes them
  • Bournemouth aquarium half price sale, may treat myself< pre isolation times
  • making lime jelly cheesecakes
  • agreeing to make frozen cheesecake bites for Emanuela when we get back to work
  • 121 with matt in new office, says he’s happy with my progress
  • become a bit of a fb stalker to Eris
  • getting the new 1st player marker orangutan from Emma
  • fun internal email chats
  • pressure cooking
  • am very pleased I still have such a great group of school friends
  • its kind of nice to be using an old school phone again
  • getting my 2019 medals organised
  • Jeffrey in project runway, made the black and white pearl suit for Ru herself
  • Aidan really going for it, am so pleased to know him
  • kvetching with old work colleagues, so nice to not actually be there anymore
  • making yummy pies
  • really pushing the reading challenge so far.
  • starting to organise a running schedule. i want to do the 10k
  • becoming known as a feeder at work
  • krispie kreme donuts
  • looking to organise the team curry night in April. actually looking forward to it
  • despite not being very social, feel very much part of the gang at work
  • new better call saul – look out for the boxset
  • drag race all stars with Stuart – introducing him to manila luzon in actual person
  • zsuzsanna always asking after dad
  • linds giving me stamps while in lockdown – shes such a star
  • Rach offering to maybe come and keep me company on a 10K
  • lovely letter and stamps from Laura
  • Vicki is such a fantastic hardworker
  • Bernie’s twins are such little cuties 🙂 Betsi reminds me of when I met Bernadette first
  • going for chips in the middle of the night – well, about 7!!
  • lazy lost night – too old for late late nights
  • music night with S
  • new camera from dad, must actually use and benefit from this one
  • lovely pot plant for valentines
  • having dexter in the house, nice to share with a little panther
  • steak and black garlic butter
  • great chat with Liam, am so pleased Bird is ok
  • Losers on the bus chats
  • Liam has downloaded the Pandemic game app – i’ll make a gamer of him yet!
  • lovely meal with s and the parents at tandoori knights
  • ticket to ride!
  • massive congrats to people I know for going back into learning, Melissa will be a fantastic teacher
  • Lovely catch up with Emanuela, Nat and Kim
  • watching all stars 3 together, gotta love a bit of latrila
  • beating Stuart at 5 tribes
  • finding new fun authors
  • new discworld facemasks
  • restarting lost – be good to see how far we get
  • gorgeous sunrises, make me feel lucky to live where we do
  • nice texts from Emma, i’m so lucky she is in my life
  • fun bus rides to smart with the bus losers
  • yummy meal at mum and dads
  • getting my first positive public feedback
  • becoming known as a feeder at work
  • book recommendations from friends
  • frank thought I was about 30!
  • growing potatoes
  • lovely catch up with Claire – miss her
  • buying bits from Lacei
  • upping our noodle game
  • Grogu and BOBA!!!!!!
  • lovely card from people at work, nice bunch
  • swapping recipes with Jess
  • trying to book time away with dad, not the easiest but I will do it
  • Race Chaser – classique (boom boom boom)
  • mcdonalds breakfast – fat but amazing
  • starting to take more pics
  • learning new skills
  • starting to plan the garden, i am so looking forward to summer
  • gorgeous sunrises
  • buying cerise hair dye
  • getting our egypt on in minecraft
  • starting xmas cross stitching for next years cards
  • wearing masks is good for my lip snc game
  • we started (and nearly finished) IT
  • Zsus giving me a lift into town – such a sweet woman
  • beautiful hyacinths for my birthday
  • finding the pan! Thank you ghost 🙂
  • think he liked his presents, am pleased
  • having a shitty morning but I get a lovely text back from him
  • S schooling me at games
  • getting a new little sofa bed – we may have comfy seating upstairs
  • looking forward to getting our fences fixed ands then prettying up the garden
  • helping Nysa and Jess with a really long bit of work (weekly uploads)
  • finding temples and dolphins in minecraft
  • hug gang at work – Kim, Zsu are both so good at making me feel comfortable
  • lovely omelettes – he’s such a good cook
  • finding info about payroll and papdis becoming clearer – which is nice
  • vienettas are smaller than they were, but still yum
  • fun chats with people at work, Jess is so lovely
  • sitting with James – pretty sure i’m not qualified for this but hey
  • winning books thanks to Suet
  • looking at booking Paris
  • positive google reviews
  • Vicki has excellent new joggers – introduced me to a new company
  • Rachel and I chatting about food, think we could do this for hours
  • photos of the massive cruise ships behind sandbanks
  • both managed to actually grow stuff and not just flowers!

So, that’s quite a list, kudos if you managed to get through it all – duplicates and all.

I am always grateful to have such wonderful friends, family and loved ones. I may not have managed to do my ideal for the year but I’m sure that no matter what happens, 2021 will be full of surprises and I hope that those reading this are happy, healthy and feel love.

Leave a comment