Highlights of 2023- better late than never x

So usually, I tend to have a “good things from ……” jar, where I write things which make me smile throughout the year and at the end, I read through them all and share them here.

I started this as a way to show myself how many good things DO actually happen and get wiped out by the slightest small issue. I’ve found it helps me to focus on the good, and also a great pick me up to read a few throughout the year when there are bad patches in life. I haven’t done that this year – partly because i’ve been so busy and also because now I feel more in control of my emotions and depression and do try to see the positives.

With that in mind, I don’t have a huge list of things to share, but instead a few photos of some really happy times, some stories of epic meals and drinks and some people who deserve special shout outs to thank for being so valuable in my life.

I was really lucky this year to find a new job, which over the months has become another job, but a really joyous one, and something I wasn’t expecting to return to – Bar work. I loved working in the office at Poole Yacht Club, and am still a bit trepidatious that it won’t be easy sailing, but I do love a challenge and can see where I might be able to make things better here.

The Bar team are quite frankly amazing, they all work so hard, and have been so wonderful in accepting me into their group – offering extra hours, support, helping me with silly and massive things and I’m really proud to work with them all. No matter what gets thrown our way, we rise and succeed. It’s also been really fun to get back making cocktails for people….any excuse I get I will happily lob some things together to try and bring a smile to the group. Below are myself, and some of the best workers here – Aidan, Sean & Jithin.

I also bought my first car this year. It’s a nice little fiesta but i’ll be honest, it’s not been the easiest of things to get into the swing of. I don’t tend to make resolutions but know that next year I just need to fight my fears and get using it every day. It’s not been without it’s setbacks but I’m hoping I can crack the fear and start enjoying driving, because I can remember enjoying it in my last few weeks of lessons, so I know the pleasure is there somewhere. Unfortunately I think I left it too long between passing my test (in 2019) and now getting a car – it will get better though I am sure, and I’ve already started planning trips out for photos (Bluebell fields, Durdle Door, heck, even sunrises in different beachy areas would be nice) which I’m hoping will make me more brave and confident. (fingers crossed please).

With the above in mind, I need to give a shout out to Rachel, she’s amazing, and this year went above the call of friendship by both walking on hot coals with me like a superhero, but she has also risked her life many times to try and make me feel comfortable driving while I try to ensure we don’t end up in a ball of fire. I know without her help I’d be even more uncomfortable and I’m ridiculously lucky she only lives around the corner should all go to pot!

I’ve not spent as much time taking pics during the later parts of this year, mostly because I’ve been working so much but I’m glad I got to take some Xmas pics around my birthday this year and have been using those images as my Christmas Cards. It’s been lovely to share my views and so many people seem to like them too, which is lovely.

I finally managed to get back to Paris with my dad. It wasn’t the easiest of trips and I know that we again came back with a list of things to see next time we are there, but again, I saw wonderful things, ate some of the finest food I’ve ever eaten and my parents bought me a macaron making masterclass which was amazing – I will NEVER moan about the prices of Macarons in future! I had a lot of fun and was quite impressed with them once completed, but can’t see myself making Macaron Baking a new part of my life.

For anyone looking to do such a thing in Paris, I would heartily recommend The Foodist courses, I saw another class going on where they were making baguettes and another poaching pears and both looked fun and definitely a once in a lifetime kind of class.

Because of work, I’ve not spent as long as ideal with my friends, I haven’t managed to get around the country to see them, or even get out ton Spain to see the bestie. But I’m hoping that sooner rather than later, work will be calmer, I will be more organised and I will be braver when it comes to driving, which means I might actually be able to make more plans with people dotted about.

I’ve been really lucky at work with the people I’m surrounded by, they’ve accepted me and I am so grateful for that. I didn’t think people in my previous job were bad, but this lot take the cake……and I’m pretty sure, without a couple of the members I wouldn’t have even dreamed of taking on this bar job again. I’m grateful that I have a good group here, even if it’s just so they have confidence in me when I don’t.

Our cat visitor has gone from timid little shouter, to a fat entitled shouter, and we love him. He’s an idiot, and I haven’t taken nearly enough photos of him to be fair, but I have managed a select few – none of which are cute look how beautiful this cat is….more like look how stupid this fluffball looks.

There’s so many people I want to say thank you to for this year, from old work mates, who I miss to new people who have really helped me to get through this year and all it’s challenges. I’m not sure I’ll do the Happy thought’s jar next year but I’m sure if I do, there will be plenty to fill it.

Happy New Year you beautiful people. I’m glad we all got through it and no matter how it ends, remember it’s a new day tomorrow and new challenges await us. Tell your loved ones how you feel, you never know what’s going to happen in the future and I’ve lost too many people to try and hide my feelings now.

Good things from 2023

birthday with mum and dad – cocktails at Turtle Bay

getting a new job, seeing a bit of a light at the end of a tunnel for a while

spending time with friends and family

getting a new car

growing things, didn’t go quite as planned but I still managed something

spending time playing stupid games with the housemate

getting to know new people, having people like me and people seem to have really taken me into their groups

finding an absolutely rock solid team of workers and being proud to be part of something

axe throwing with friends (as you do)

being appreciated for my cocktails

Dusty cat getting more comfy around us

Paris as always taking my heart with it

Gardening for my mum, never thought that would be a thing but I do love to make her happy

Taking photos of fun places and things

Getting back behind a bar

spending multiple drinks time in Harry’s

some of the best food ever this time in Paris

Greek night with AJ – despite it all, it was really fun

starting to find my feet with staff / rotas / general madness

starting my little rooftop herb garden at PYC

getting a manager who despite being a Hammers supporter is a nice person and supports me.

new people at work, taking me in and actually seeming to like my idiotness

going to see the Martyrs and catching up with friends

Actually going on, and enjoying a staff Xmas Party – despite the fallout for everyone else! đŸ˜€ shots are a bad idea hahaha

seeing some live music and a band I’ve loved since I was a teen – cannot wait till the 24 options

All in all, a pretty good year. I hope no matter what happens this year, great things are coming for us all.

Leave a comment